My favourite things post this week is very much influenced by my recent weekend in Dublin.   Myself & hubby headed off – sans kids (our first time away from them both) – for a weekend away to celebrate our anniversary.

We stayed here in the Castleknock Hotel & Country Club.  The hotel was beautiful & the staff were amazing, we’ll definitely be back. http://www.castleknockhotel.com

I got tickets to go see this in the Grand Canal Theatre for Liam for Christmas.  It’s the musical he’s always wanted to see, no one could believe I didn’t know the story behind it.  Turns out I knew the songs though!  The production was amazing, the stage set was spectacular, it was a full house & everyone was on their feet for the curtain call.  It was dramatic & moving & yes, I cried a little at the end!  I’ve been lent the book to read & it’s on my list!

I had my first ever hot stone back massage at the Tonic Day Spa at the hotel.  I also had a facial, I’m not a fan of facials to be honest, but I think of them as a necessary evil & try to get one every 6 months. The hot stone back massage however, was a real treat.  I was so relaxed & blissed out after the experience, which as anyone who knows me will say is no mean feat!  It also got rid completely of some lower back pain I’ve been having recently, so yes, I will be going back for more & more frequently than every 6 months!

My mother surprised me this week with a little gift.  It’s a jewellery box she’s had for years, as you can see it’s made of seashells & it was a source of fascination when I was a little girl.  I always wanted it & now it’s mine, I will treasure & look after it & hopefully pass it on to Taegan some day!

